poems from long ago

 

flowers 007

jan 20th 1981

 I’d like to go back

to yesterday when days were short and

nights were blessed by the angels

life was not an endurance test and

beauty was all around

where is that point around the sun

called yesterday

did it really exist?

I must have dreamed it

Those who peopled that world are no more

where have they gone

are they looking back or

did they get a grasp on things

why did they leave me here

Stranded am I

 

babs#28

Before your smile

I never saw fire in the sky

A sunset ends the day

 

babs#29

What is it that torments me so

I could’t tell

I just know this must be hell

 babs#30

Fly away little bluebird

Your songs are

wasted on me

I hear your melody

but

it will not sooth me

I need

arms to hold me

And eyes

so bright

they’ll lift the darkness

of my soul

I must be lifted

and carried

I have not the will

to follow agai n

babs#31

what pictures do you see

when you hear me say

I love you

I see mountains and the sea

yet here am I

looking back at you

 always looking back at you

when will stand beside me?

Never 

No ever !

 babs#32

when you see me walking down the street

you see me walking all alone

when you see me walking down the street

you do not see the lovers at my feet

they hold my hand

they stair into my eyes and

dance me across the street

they show me off to passers by

and help me laugh or cry

they speak of love so sweet

they speak of life and

dreams in sleep

we speak of you and beet

we laugh at you on the street

when you see me on the street

you do not see

the lovers at my feet

Untitled-Scanned-38NIAGONL

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

